2020 Nominees



First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theater awards chosen by a cross-section of the theatre community — specifically, by the industry professionals, producers, artists, audiences, and critics who are Drama League members nationwide. Membership is open to everyone; for more information about membership or the Drama League Awards, please call (212) 244-9494 or visit www.dramaleague.org.

The nominations were announced during The Gratitude Awards by Beetlejuice’s Alex Brightman and Leslie Rodriguez Kritzer. Voting is open for Drama League members from May 1 – May 22. Award winners will be announced by Gabriel Stelian-Shanks & Bevin Ross via livestream in June. The Drama League Awards Event Chair is Bonnie Comley.





Cambodian Rock Band
Directed by Chay Yew
Written by Lauren Yee
Signature Theatre Company


Dana H.
Directed by Les Waters
Written by Lucas Hnath
Vineyard Theatre


Grand Horizons
Directed by
Leigh Silverman
Written by Bess Wohl
Second Stage/Helen Hayes Theater


The Hot Wing King
Directed by Steve H. Broadnax III
Written by Katori Hall
Signature Theatre Company


The Inheritance
Directed by
Stephen Daldry
Written by Matthew Lopez
Barrymore Theatre


The Michaels
Written and Directed by
Richard Nelson
Public Theater


Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow
Directed by Trip Cullman
Written by Halley Feiffer
MCC Theater


One in Two
Directed by
Stevie Walker-Webb
Written by Donja R. Love
The New Group


Sea Wall/A Life
Directed by
Carrie Cracknell
Written by Simon Stephens/Nick Payne
Hudson Theater


Directed by
Moritz von Stuelpnagel
Written by Theresa Rebeck
MCC Theater


Slave Play
Directed by
Robert O'Hara
Written by Jeremy O. Harris
New York Theatre Workshop/John Golden Theatre


Directed by
Colette Robert
Written by Zora Howard
Page 73





Girl from the North Country
Directed by
Conor McPherson
Book by Conor McPherson, Music and Lyrics by Bob Dylan
Belasco Theatre


Jagged Little Pill
Directed by
Diane Paulus
Music by Alanis Morissette and Glen Ballard, Lyrics by Alanis Morissette, Book by Diablo Cody
Broadhurst Theatre


Moulin Rouge!
Directed by
Alex Timbers
Book by John Logan, Music and Lyrics by Various Artists
Al Hirschfeld Theatre


Directed by
Annie Tippe
Written by Dave Malloy
Signature Theatre Company


The Secret Life of Bees
Directed by Sam Gold
Book by Lynn Nottage, Music by Duncan Sheik, Lyrics by Susan Birkenhead
Atlantic Theater Company


Sing Street
Directed by
Rebecca Taichman
Book by Enda Walsh, Music and Lyrics by Gary Clark and John Carney
New York Theatre Workshop


Directed by
Lucy Moss and Jamie Armitage
Written by Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss
Brooks Atkinson Theatre


Soft Power
Directed by
Leigh Silverman
Book and Lyrics by David Henry Hwang, Music and Additional Lyrics by Jeanine Tesori
Public Theater


A Strange Loop
Directed by Stephen Brackett
Book, Music and Lyrics by Michael R. Jackson
Playwrights Horizons and Page 73


Tina: The Tina Turner Musical
Directed by
Phyllida Lloyd
Book by Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar and Kees Prins, Music by Various Artists
Lunt-Fontanne Theatre





Directed by
Jamie Lloyd
Written by Harold Pinter
Jacobs Theatre


for colored girls who have considered suicide
/when the rainbow is enuf

Directed by
Leah C. Gardiner
Written by Ntozake Shange
Public Theater


Fires in the Mirror
Directed by
Saheem Ali
Written by Anna Deavere Smith
Signature Theatre Company


Frankie and Johnny in the Claire de Lune
Directed by
Arin Arbus
Written by Terrence McNally
Broadhurst Theatre


Judgment Day
Directed by
Richard Jones
Written by Ödön von Horváth, Adapted by Christopher Shinn
Park Avenue Armory


Directed by Simon Stone
Written by Simon Stone after Euripides
Brooklyn Academy of Music


Native Son
Directed by Seret Scott
Written by Nambi E. Kelley, based on the novel by Richard Wright
The Acting Company


The Rose Tattoo
Directed by Trip Cullman
Written by Tennessee Williams
Roundabout Theatre Company


A Soldier's Play
Directed by Kenny Leon
Written by Charles Fuller
Roundabout Theatre Company


The Woman in Black
Directed by Robin Herford
Written by Stephen Mallatratt, based on the novel by Susan Hill
The McKittrick Hotel





Enter Laughing
Directed by Stuart Ross
Book by Joseph Stein, Music and Lyrics by Stan Daniels
York Theatre Company


Little Shop of Horrors
Directed by Michael Mayer
Book and Lyrics by Howard Ashman, Music by Alan Menken
Westside Theatre


Rock of Ages
Directed by Kristin Hanggi
Book by Chris D'Arienzo, Music and Lyrics by Various Artists
New World Stages


The Unsinkable Molly Brown
Directed by Kathleen Marshall
Book and New Lyrics by Dick Scanlan, Music and Lyrics by Meredith Willson
The Transport Group


West Side Story
Directed by Ivo van Hove
Book by Arthur Laurents, Music by Leonard Bernstein, Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
Broadway Theatre






David Acton, The Woman in Black

Jeffrey Bean, Dublin Carol

Ato Blankson-Wood, The Rolling Stone and Slave Play

Christian Borle, Little Shop of Horrors

Danielle Brooks, Much Ado About Nothing

Danny Burstein, Moulin Rouge!

Rose Byrne, Medea

Len Cariou, Harry Townsend's Last Stand

Patrice Johnson Chevannes, runboyrun & In Old Age

Liza Colón-Zayas, Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven

Kate del Castillo, the way she spoke

Edmund Donovan, Greater Clements

Raúl Esparza, Seared

Francesca Faridany, The Half-Life of Marie Curie

Halley Feiffer, The Pain of My Belligerence

Danyel Fulton, Broadbend, Arkansas

Annie Golden, Broadway Bounty Hunter

Donnetta Lavinia Grays, Where We Stand

David Alan Grier, A Soldier's Play

Jonathan Groff, Little Shop of Horrors

Jake Gyllenhaal, Sea Wall/A Life

Tom Hiddleston, Betrayal

Paul Hilton, The Inheritance

Kathryn Hunter, Timon of Athens

Galen Ryan Kane, Native Son

Brittney Mack, Six

April Matthis, Toni Stone

Susannah Millonzi, The Crucible

Kate Mulgrew, The Half-Life of Marie Curie

Joe Ngo, Cambodian Rock Band

Deirdre O'Connell, Dana H.

Brenock O'Connor, Sing Street

Okwui Okpokwasili, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf

Karen Olivo, Moulin Rouge!

Larry Owens, A Strange Loop

Lauren Patten, Jagged Little Pill

Chris Perfetti, Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow

Ben Porter, The Woman in Black

Isaac Powell, West Side Story

Jonathan Pryce, The Height of the Storm

Elizabeth Rodriguez, Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven

Michael Shannon, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune

Tom Sturridge, Sea Wall/A Life

Marisa Tomei, The Rose Tattoo

Blair Underwood, A Soldier's Play

Michael Urie, Grand Horizons

Adrienne Warren, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical

Michael Benjamin Washington, Fires in the Mirror

Portia, Stew


The Drama League also wishes to acknowledge the previous recipients of the Distinguished Performance Award who appeared in Broadway or Off-Broadway productions this season.  As the Award can only be won once in a performer’s lifetime, they are ineligible to be nominated; however, their exemplary work is recognized and applauded.


Harvey Fierstein, Bella Bella

Mary-Louise Parker, The Sound Inside

Audra McDonald, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune