Special Award Recipients Announced

April 3, 2017 / For the 83rd Annual Drama League Awards


We are thrilled to announce this year's Special Awards recipients:
Bette Midler, who this season stars in the box-office-record-breaking production of Hello, Dolly!, will receive the 2017 Drama League Award for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater;  Michael Greif, director of this season's Dear Evan Hansen and War Paint, will receive the 2017 Founders Award for Excellence in Directing; and Bill Berloni, renowned Animal Director and Trainer for stage and screen, will receive the 2017 Award for Unique Contribution to the Theater.
These honors are presented along with five competitive awards: Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award. For a list of previous honorees and winners, click here. 
Click here to read more about all three honorees and book your tickets to the 2017 Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon.
The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony will be held held on Friday, May 19, 2017 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway at 46th Street) in New York City beginning at 11:30am. Join us then to celebrate this season's incredible theater productions and artists!