Meet the 2017 Directors Project Fellows

April 26, 2017


Learn these 11 names and faces - they are going to go far. This week, we announced the talented directors from across the country who will take the next step in their careers through the Drama League Directors Project Fellows. 

The Fellowship program begins in the summer with the Hangar Summer Fellowship, a practicum in artistic leadership of a regional theatre, where fellows lead a resident acting company in programming, directing, and producing the second stage season at the Hangar Theater in Ithaca, NY. This year's Hangar fellows are Michael Alvarez, Jillian Carucci, Tom Costello and Gabriel Vega Weissman. 

The Classical Fellowship for Directors of Color is a summer residency at three of America’s leading theatrical homes for classical work, assisting on mainstage productions and directing in their educational and touring programs. This year's Classical Fellows are Justin Emeka and Kholoud Sawaf.

The Leo Shull New Musicals Fellowship was named in honor of the late theatrical impresario and publisher/editor of Show Business Weekly, and is a five-week immersion in the art and craft of developing and directing new works for the musical theatre. This year's Leo Shull New Musiclas Fellows is Laura Brandel

The Fall Directing Fellowship is an immersion for in directing opportunities in the professional theatre, both regionally and in New York City, culminating in a festival of their work Off-Broadway. Our Fall Fellows for 2017 are Bonnie Gabel, Matt Dickson, Flordelino Lagundino and Rebecca Martínez.

The alumni of The Drama League Directors Project, which now number over 300, can be found working in all aspects of the entertainment profession. ‘Drama League Directors’ are directing on Broadway, Off-Broadway, at regional theaters across the country, and in film and television. They are the artistic directors and associates at over 60 theater companies across America. Others hold prominent positions as producers, writers, agents, administrators, and educators at some of our finest professional training programs. Their directing work has been honored Tony, Emmy, Obie, Peabody, Drama Desk, GLAAD, Drama League, New York Drama Critics Circle, Outer Critics, Evening Standard, Lucille Lortel, Bessie, Princess Grace, Garland, Drama-Logue, Barrymore, Helen Hayes, Elliot Norton, and Joseph Jefferson Awards, as well as the Pulitzer Prize for Drama. They have literally shaped the future of the American theater, with the praise of critics and audiences alike.


Learn more about the 2017 Fellows and their fellowships here