Congratulations to the winners of the 2013 Drama League awards

May 21, 2013


Distinguished Performance Award: Nathan Lane

The Drama League would like to congratulate all the nominees, and to sincerely thank all the volunteers and supporters that joined us in celebrating this wonderful season of theatre!

N. Distinguished Performance Award - Lane speech 2 small


Kinky-BootsDistinguished Production of a Musical: Kinky Boots

Al Hirschfeld TheatreBook by Harvey Fierstein; Music and Lyrics by Cyndi LauperDirected by Jerry MitchellDaryl Roth, Hal Luftig, James L. Nederlander, Terry Allen Kramer, Independent Presenters Network, CJ E&M, Jayne Baron Sherman, Just For Laughs Theatricals/Judith Ann Abrams, Yasuhiro Kawana, Jane Bergere, Allan S. Gordon and Adam S. Gordon, Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Lucy and Phil Suarez, Bryan Bantry, Ron Fierstein and Dorsey Regal, Jim Kierstead/Gregory Rae, BB Group/Christina Papagjika, Michael DeSantis/Patrick Baugh, Brian Smith/Tom and Connie Walsh, Warren Trepp and Jujamcyn Theaters, producers



Distinguished Production of a Play: Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike

Vania-Sonia-Lincoln Center Theatre/Golden Theatre
by Christopher Durang
Directed by Nicholas Martin
Joey Parnes, Larry Hirschhorn, Joan Raffe/Jhett Tolentino, Martin Platt and David Elliot, Pat Flicker Addiss, Catherine Adler, John O’Boyle, Joshua Goodman, Jamie deRoy/Richard Winkler, Cricket Hooper Jiranek/Michael Palitz, Mark S. Golub and David S. Golub, Radio Mouse Entertainment, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, Mary Cossette/Barbara Manocherian, Megan Savage/Meredith Lynsey Schade, Hugh Hysell/Richard Jordan, Cheryl Wiesenfeld/Ron Simons, S.D. Wagner, John Johnson, producers, in association with McCarter Theatre Center and Lincoln Center Theater

Pippin-Playbill-03-13Distinguished Revival of a Musical: Pippin

Music Box Theatre
Book by Roger O. Hirson, Music and Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz
Directed by Diane Paulus
Barry and Fran Weissler, Howard and Janet Kagan, Lisa Matlin, Kyodo Tokyo, A&A Gordon/Brunish Trinchero, Tom Smedes/Peter Stern, Broadway Across America, Independent Presenters Network, Norton Herrick, Allen Spivak, Rebecca Gold, Joshua Goodman, Stephen E. McManus, David Robbins/Bryan S. Weingarten, Philip Hagemann/Murray Rosenthal, Jim Kierstead/.Carlos Arana/Myla Lerner, Hugh Hayes/Jamie Cesa/Jonathan Reinis, Sharon A. Carr/Patricia R. Klausner, Ben Feldman, Square 1 Theatrics, Wendy Federman/Carl Muellenberg, Bruce Robert Harris/Jack W. Batman, Infinity Theatre Company/Michael Rubenstein, and Michael A. Alden/Dale Badway/Ken Mahoney, producers


Distinguished Revival of a Play: Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?Whos-Afraid-Virginia-Woolf-09-12

Booth Theatre
by Edward Albee
Directed by Pam MacKinnon
Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Susan Quint Gallin, Mary Lu Roffe, Kit Seidel, Amy Danis and Mark Johannes, Patty Baker, Mark S. Golub and David S. Golub, Richard Gross, Jam Theatricals, Cheryl Lachowicz, Michael Palitz, Dramatic Forces/Angelina Fiordellisi, Luigi and Rose Caiola, Ken Greiner, Kathleen K. Johnson, Kirmser Ponturo Fund, Will Trice, and GFour Productions, producers


Founders Award for Excellence in Directing:
Jerry Mitchell

H. Founders Award for Directing - post show pic 2 small

Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater:
Bernadette Peters

G. Distinguished Contribution to MT, Peters backstage pic 1 small

Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award:
Madison Square Garden Entertainment and The Rockettes

I. Unique Contribution to Theater, backstage pic small