2016 Beatrice Terry and Artist Residencies

September 4, 2015 / Applications Now Open!


Applications are now open for the 2016 Beatrice Terry Residency and the Artists Residency Program. 

Beatrice Terry

Named in honor of a late Drama League alumna, the Beatrice Terry Residency is a special part of the Drama League Artist Residency Program. It is dedicated to the development of a new work by an emerging female writer-director, culminating in a writing residency, living stipend and a professional reading of the new work at The Drama League Theater Center. 

The Residency was launched in 2014 by Tony Award winning director, Michael Mayer and Terry's widow, Gretchen Michelfeld.  The inaugural recipient, Elena Araoz was in residence in Spring 2015 with her piece, Plastic Drastic. 

The Drama League Artist Residency Program gives theater directors and their collaborators unique, supportive opportunities to develop new plays and musicals.  Dedicated to focused creative process, and specifically designed to avoid the creative stressors and economic pressures of public performance, these developmental residencies nurture collaboration at its central creative core.  ARP also offers many ways for artists to benefit from multiple points of creative interaction, through the establishment of a professional mentor for each project, guidance by Drama League artistic staff, and engagement with other artists and theater advocates.

Previous Artists in Residence include Rachel Chavkin/The TEAM; Lily Whitsitt/Door 10; Michael Goldfried and Stefano Brancato; Tara Ahmahdinejad/Piehole; and Rachel Dickstein/Ripetime

All residencies include rehearsal hours in the Lane/Comley studio lab, developmental stipend, and mentor/cohort support.  Applications are due no later than 5pm EST on Friday November 6th. 

For more information about the Artists Residency Program and to apply, CLICK HERE

For more information about the Beatrice Terry Residency and to apply, CLICK HERE